Why I’ve Decided to Be Single for a Year

Ziana Faith
2 min readSep 19, 2020
Photo by Pranam Gurung on Unsplash

Sometimes dating can be exhausting, especially when it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. There’s only so many times you can swipe right, so many times you can have the conversation “so what do you do?” or “so what are you looking for?”. I can’t say the thrill of being asked on a first date isn’t exciting but I’m tired of the same old same old.

I feel that this year is going to be a busy yet rewarding one, with completing the final year of my bachelor’s degree as well as applying for master’s degrees and internships, and I just know that dating would be a massive distraction.

Some people are able to date without investing a lot of mind energy into the person, but unfortunately I’m not one of those people. I plan date ideas in my head, I think about what the other person is doing, I analyse whether we’re a good match (maybe that’s just the inner psychologist in me). But it’s not the best combination when you also have a ton of academic work or other projects to focus on.

The other reason why I’ve decided to be single for a year is because I don’t like to settle. Sometimes I realise that I’m talking to guys simply out of boredom. I know I’m not into them, I know it won’t turn into anything long term but I just want to fill my time. I’ve come to realise that it might not be the most productive way of spending my days and it generally doesn’t match my long term “dating strategy”, which is to date intentionally or purposefully.

So for the next year, until September 1st 2021, I’ll be focusing on myself, on my career goals, on travelling, on spiritual development and on becoming a better version of myself. I’m sure it won’t be an easy journey, but it will definitely be worthwhile.

--

--

Ziana Faith

Ziana is a writer and student, currently completing her degree in Psychology. She enjoys writing about careers, finances and lifestyle.